Articles tagged with: Dahlonega History

Feb22

James “Free Jim” Boisclair

Written by // Chris Worick Categories // History & Heritage

James “Free Jim” Boisclair

When Dahlonega was established in 1833, one of its first residents was a former slave who had recently arrived from Augusta named James Boisclair. Commonly referred to as “Free Jim,” among the local population, Boisclair opened a small mercantile and baked goods shop, on the site of the present day Smith House Restaurant.

Jan15

Every Name Has a Story

Written by // Chris Worick Categories // History & Heritage

Every Name Has a Story

The name of Dahlonega was originally Talonega, the Cherokee word meaning "gold" or "yellow metal." Several different spellings such as Tahloneka, Talounaga, and Dahlochnega appear on early maps and documents of the county. The official spelling and pronunciation as we know it today, Dahlonega (Da-lahn-e-ga) was adopted in November of 1833.

How that came to be is a story that’s just as unique as the town itself and its curiously distinctive (and often mispronounced) name.

<<  1 2 3 4 [5
Sign Up For Our Newsletter:

Dahlonega-Lumpkin County Chamber & Visitors Bureau  |  13 South Park Street  |  Dahlonega, GA 30533  |  (706) 864-3711 or (800) 231-5543.